Resource library search

Displaying 9 results

  • Active filters:
  • Awards
Winners of 2024 NUJ/Orwell Society Young Journalist Awards announced

The entrants, students and young working journalists, wrote a column or review and explained how their writing had been influenced by the 1984 author.

Winners of the NUJ/Orwell Society Young Journalist Awards 2024

17 May 2024
LMFM broadcaster Michael Reade awarded over coverage of of child sexual abuse scandals

The NUJ member was presented with the “Recognition of Excellence” award on behalf of CVSA an international network of people who have experienced child sex abuse.

Micahel Reade

Orwell Society/NUJ Young Journalist’s Award 2024

The deadline for entries is 12:00 midnight on Sunday 7 April.

George Orwell NUJ card

19 Sep 2023
The Orwell Society/NUJ Young Journalist’s Award 2023

Young journalists win prizes for writing a column or review influenced by George Orwell’s work. Gwenno Robinson won the column category.

Gwenno Robinson George Orwell/NUJ winner 2023

15 May 2023
Bursary honours union pioneer Mary Maher

The legacy of pioneering NUJ member of honour Mary Maher was recalled at a ceremony in Dublin today when the first Mary Maher Bursary was inaugurated by The Irish Times.

Mary Maher (bursary)

The Orwell Society/NUJ Young Journalist Awards 2023 is open for entries

Entrants are asked to write an arts review or political column and explain how it has been informed by Orwell’s influence.

George Orwell NUJ card

10 Oct 2022
NUJ recognised at TUC communications awards

The Journalist magazine has been commended in the 'best union journal' category at this year's ceremony.

NUJ logo (website).png

16 Sep 2022
Orwell Society’s award-winning young journalists announced

Articles covering the cult of personality of controversial tech entrepreneur Elon Musk, by Quincy Elise de Vrie, and singer Sam Fender took the top prizes.

Quincy Elise de Vries, Orwell Society prize winner

06 May 2022
Winners announced for Ian Bell New Writing award

A wealth of young talent was identified in the NUJ Edinburgh & District branch competition in memory of journalist and author Ian Bell.

11 Feb 2020