The Orwell Society/NUJ Young Journalist Awards 2023 is open for entries

  • 10 Oct 2022

Entrants are asked to write an arts review or political column and explain how it has been informed by Orwell’s influence.

Former Guardian journalist Gary Younge, now professor of sociology at Manchester University, and award-winning broadcaster Marverine Cole have joined the judging panel of the 2023 Orwell Society’s Young Journalist Awards.

The award winning investigative journalist, Tam Hussein, who writes about conflict, terrorism, refugees and human trafficking and is a contributing editor to New Lines Magazine and specialist producer for ITV News has  joined the panel.

The NUJ is supporting the award in memory of its former member George Orwell, who as well as being one of the foremost writers of the twentieth century, and author of Nineteen Eighty-Four and Animal Farm, was a renowned journalist. 

Those entering will write an arts review or political column and will be expected to take heed of George Orwell’s Six Rules for Writing.  The deadline for submissions is 12:00 midnight, Thursday 30 March.

The Orwell Society/NUJ Young Journalist’s Award 2023 offers a prize of £1,500 each for each winner. In addition, the student winners will each receive an NUJ membership. The runners-up in each category will receive a prize of £500 and winners and runners-up will also receive a three-year free membership of The Orwell Society.

For full details of the award and how to apply, go to The Orwell Society website.

The full judges’ line-up:

  • Richard Blair (patron of The Orwell Society and Orwell’s son)
  • Chair, Dr Jaron Murphy (award-winning journalist and principal academic in communication, journalism and literature, Bournemouth University)
  • Ann Kronbergs (education trustee, The Orwell Society)
  • Tam Hussein (prize-winning investigative journalist)
  • Marverine Cole (award-winning broadcast journalist)
  • Gary Younge (British journalist, author, broadcaster and professor of Sociology; Manchester University)
  • Frances Rafferty (NUJ representative)
  • Nick Harris (2020 winner of the OS YJA)

This image  is used expressly to promote the Young Journalist’s Award with the kind permission of The Orwell Estate and UCL Library, Special Collections.

Return to listing