Winning for you at work

Forgotten Password?
  1. Home
  2. Where
  3. Ireland
  4. Irish executive council

Irish executive council

The Irish executive council (IEC) is led by the cathaoirleach (chair) and is an all-Ireland body with sectoral and geographical representation.

The role of the cathaoirleach is shared by Gerry Carson and Bernie Mullen.

The general secretary, deputy general secretary, Irish secretary and Irish organiser, along with the NEC members for the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, are also non-voting members of the IEC.

Northern Ireland committee: The NUJ has a Northern Ireland advisory committee. The committee is chaired by Michael Fisher, Belfast and district branch.

Retired members committee:  We value the voice of retired members. Louis McConnell is chair of the retired members committee, with Jim Eadie as secretary. Please email enquiries to

Find out who represents you on the Irish executive council (members only).