Winning for you at work

Forgotten Password?
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Online Media Awards 2013 open for entries

Online Media Awards 2013 open for entries

4 April 2013

Now in their third year, the Online Media Awards awards continue to identify the cleverest, boldest and most original purveyors of news and views from around the world.

The awards are open to media owners, journalists, online publishers and editors. Entries can be made at the Online Media Awards website, the deadline is Wednesday 10 April.

Supported by the NUJ, the aim of these awards is to find the best application of talent and technology online.

Online Media Awards founder Gordon Young explained:

"The Online Media Awards have very quickly become established among the world's top online media owners and editors as an important benchmark for the work that they are doing to build strong online brands. Being the only awards scheme that focus solely on rewarding the online teams, this event is extremely important in giving the digital teams and individuals the credit they so richly deserve."

Last year's winners included some of the world's leading websites: The Guardian, Huffington Post, Mail Online, BBC, Sunday Times, Economist, Channel 4 News to name a few. But it wasn't just the big companies that were recognised, awards also went to Nursing Times, Mindful Money, Red Online and the Belfast Telegraph.

Categories cover all areas of media including: best site for news-led journalism, best specialist site for journalism, best local/regional news site, best use of social media, online editor of the year and digital writer of the year.

This year new categories have been introduced to recognise individuals, and journalism in various sectors. These new categories include:

  • Best App – for Smart phone or tablet
  • Best Freelance Writer
  • Best Photographer
  • Best Lifestyle / Leisure News Site
  • Best Business / Finance News Site
  • Best Health / Education News Site
  • Outstanding Digital Team of the Year, in association with the British Journalism Review

The website has full details of categories and guidance on how to enter. For further information, register for the awards on the Online Media Awards website or contact Katy Thomson at

Tags: , new media, online, online media awards