Winning for you at work

Forgotten Password?
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Association of British Science Writers 2013 awards now open

Association of British Science Writers 2013 awards now open

26 February 2013

The ABSW Science Writers’ Awards for Britain and Ireland are now open for entry after being re-established in 2010 with support from Janssen Research and Development, a division of Janssen Pharmaceutica NV.

The awards attracted over 150 entries in 2012 with winners including journalists from Nature, The Independent and BBC Television and Radio.

On winning the award for best investigative journalism in 2012, Steve Connor, science editor of the Independent said:

"The ABSW awards are the top prizes in British and Irish science journalism. They are valued because you are judged by your media peers, so the winners have invariably succeeded in being interesting and accurate, as well as revelatory. I won my first ABSW award nearly 30 years ago and as a young, inexperienced journalist it provided a huge incentive to continue digging out those stories that someone, somewhere doesn’t want published. Long may it continue in the internet age of cut-and-paste ‘journalism’ and opinion."

The full list of categories for 2013 is as follows:

  • Best news item
  • Best feature
  • The Royal Society Radio Prize for best scripted/edited radio programme or podcast
  • Best scripted/edited TV programme or online video
  • NUJ Stephen White Award for best communication and reporting of science in a non-science context. This award is made in memory of Stephen White a highly influential science communicator who died in 2010.  The award is possible due to a bequest by Stephen’s wife Elizabeth White.
  • Best investigative journalism
  • The Richard Gregory Award for Best newcomer - supported by Richard Gregory's family in memorial of Professor Gregory who died in 2010

An independent panel of judges chosen from science and journalism will decide on a shortlist for the awards in May with the winners being announced at an evening reception on Thursday 20th June 2013 at The Royal Society, London.  Award winners will receive a certificate and a cash prize and enter the ABSW hall of fame that includes previous award winners Sir David Attenborough, Sir John Maddox (Nature), and Blogger Ed Yong, Judith Hann (Tomorrow’s World) and Broadcaster Jim Al-Khalili.

The closing date for entries is midnight on Sunday 24th March 2013. Full details of the rules and regulations and the entry form can be found here

Tags: , science, awards, science journalism